Self hosting or cloud hosting your blog

I had been pondering the idea of whether or not to continue to host my own blog at home and to go out and get my own domain name or, consider using the cloud via WordPress.com and let the work fall on them.

I guess the simplest route would be to let the work be done by someone else and all I have to do is just upload and enjoy.  But what if I want to change something or want to customize a page?  How much flexibility do I get with the cloud way of blogging versus hosting my own site?

I am willing to give WordPress.com a try just to see how far it will take me and my needs and if I feel I just want more freedom and more resources to tailor my my site the way I want…I can always go back to my trusty Synology DS413 that’s already running WordPress and just go get myself a cutesy domain name and leave it at that.

So this is my 1st post using WordPress.com so be patient as I begin the long trek of adding material, photos and other photo relative content.  I know its probably not going to be any different than any other blog out there. There is so many, and many more elaborate than the one I plan but its just that, a blog.  Nothing fancy.  Just looking to promote what I believe would help other photographers either through new technology, techniques and perhaps in return I can get some critiques on my posts where I include my personal shots.

With that being said, you will also notice blog entries earlier than this one.  I decided to take some of my blog posts from my self hosted system and transfer them over here since I believe some of them have some value to my readers and don’t want to let them sit on my home blog with no one reading them.

Avid amateur photographer always looking to enhance my skills and to learn from others through workshops, photowalks and just meeting up.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Blog

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 396 other followers

Past Blogs
National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

Photofocus

education and inspiration for visual storytellers

Photography Life

Photography Life provides various digital photography news, reviews, articles, tips, tutorials and guides to photographers of all levels

rona black photography

occasional visual essays

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

Island in the Net

A personal blog by Khürt Williams, full of inchoate writing on photography, coffee, and geekery.

gservo.com/

Let the Coffee and Light be your guide

Scott Wyden Kivowitz

New Jersey Photographer

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

